Letran conquers Benilde, secures first win of ECJ Preseason Cup

By: Andrea Ponce
May 18, 2024

Letran regains footing as it takes victory over Benilde in the Filoil EcoOil ECJ Preseason Cup. Photo courtesy of Ram Christian Campos of The LANCE.

The Letran Knights successfully clinched the match against the Benilde Blazers, 80-71, in an elimination round matchup of the 17th ECJ Preseason Cup held at the Filoil EcoOil Centre in San Juan City earlier today.

Jimboy Estrada accumulated 19 points, along with Kobe Monje and Paolo Javillonar, who churned out 12 points. Deo Cuajao also cashed in 11 points, two points, and a steal for the Knights.

Edsel Galoy started off the scoring for Letran with a three-pointer, quickly followed by a mid-range bucket from Javillonar.

Despite the Knights’ dominant showing in the first frame, Joshua Cajucom carried the offensive load for the Blazers, to which Jovel Baliling answered with a shot from behind the arc.

From there, Benilde gradually captured the momentum led by Allen Liwag and Anton Eusebio’s buckets from the perimeter and in the paint Letran’s lead was trimmed to nine at the half, 40-49.

Estrada waxed hot from the field, scattering makes from all over the floor backed by a defensive stop as he blocked Mark Sangco’s layup.

Cajucom tried his best to keep the game close through his offense but the Knights managed to find ways to douse his flame, allowing them to maintain control of the game.

Javillonar and Cuajao secured the Knights’ win with timely baskets capped off by a two-pointer from Estrada in the dying seconds of the ball game, 80-71.

Benilde Blazers’ Liwag contributed 14 points, together with Cajucom’s 13 markers, and Gab Cometa who dropped 10.

In their next match, the Letran Knights will face off against the Lyceum Pirates on May 22, 2024, at 3 p.m. at the same venue.


QUARTER SCORES: 19-19, 40-49, 60-62, 80-71.

LETRAN (80) -- Estrada 19, Javillonar 12, Monje 12, Cuajao 11, Dimaano 6, Baliling 5, Bojorcelo 5, Galoy 5, Go 5, Montecillo 0, Pradela 0, Tangkay 0.

BENILDE (71) -- Liwag 14, Cajucom 13, Cometa 10, Ancheta 8, Eusebio 6, Sangco 4, Ynot 4, Morales 3, Torres 3, Galas 2, Ondoa 2, Victoria 2, Oli 0, Serrano 0, Turco 0.