Comelec seeks ‘proper turnover’ with one-week transition period for BSKE 2023 winners

By: Aishah Jimenez
October 31, 2023

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) seeks the DILG to provide a one-week transition period for BSKE winners. Photo courtesy of ABS-CBN News.

The Commission on Elections (Comelec) has asked the Department of the Interior Local Government (DILG) to provide the proclaimed winning candidates in the barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan elections (BSKE) 2023 at least a week of transitional period before taking over their positions.  

Initially, the prompt assumption of office, per Comelec Chairman George Erwin Garcia and with the approval of the DILG, was a response to the Supreme Court's decision to declare Republic Act No.: 11935, the law that modified the BSKE from December 5, 2022, to October 30, 2023, unconstitutional.

"That means if they win and get proclaimed tonight, they should assume office tomorrow,” Garcia noted.

The one-week transition period, however, has been requested before Interior Secretary Benjamin "Benhur" Abalos Jr. to prevent disputes and sort out monetary accountabilities between outgoing officials and their replacements. 

"Though it's not within our jurisdiction anymore, we anticipate what will happen thus the need for a one-week transition period for proper turnover of responsibility, finances, and barangay properties," he remarked.

According to Garcia, the DILG granted Comelec’s demand and will be releasing a memorandum regarding it. 


Post-Election Settlements

Elected candidates are eligible to take the post even without first submitting the Statement of Contribution and Expenditures (SOCE).

However, in accordance with the Comelec rules, every candidate, even those who were unsuccessful in securing the race, must nonetheless submit the SOCE within 30 days from election day, or until November 29.   

At last, the winning bets must obtain certification from the Comelec confirming that they have completed the SOCE.

Comelec spokesman John Rex Laudiangco announced that candidates who won but have pending disqualification cases will not be proclaimed.

To date, the Comelec has already initiated disqualification charges against 280 BSKE runners for premature and illegal campaigning and 27 more contenders for vote-buying.