Knights Advance to FilOil Preseason Quarterfinals

By: Aulyn Gwen Bergado, Andrea Ponce
June 15, 2023

The Letran Knights faulter against Guang Ming College as it re-strategizes for the next games. Photo courtesy of FilOil EcoOil Sports.

Guang Ming College imposed their strength against Letran with a 79-84 victory in the FilOil EcoOil Preseason Cup earlier today at the FilOil EcoOil Arena in San Juan City. 

Despite losing, Letran will still advance to the quarterfinals and will face La Salle as the rules set by the preseason league have stated that if the play-in matches end in a deadlock, the highest aggregate score will move forward.  

The Intramuros-based team drew first blood yesterday as they eked out a 85-73 victory against the Luzon regional champions. 

Newcomer Edziel Galoy showcased his talents early on as he paced the scorers with 23 markers, eight boards and an assist. 

Pao Javillonar also responded to his calling as one of the leaders for the Knights with 19 points, backed by Deo Cuajao who churned out 10. 

Flying Dragons' Carl Dumalagan and Julian Lozada flipped the situation, claiming the second quarter with an 8-point lead, leaving the Knights with 37-45. 

As the game went on, the Flying Dragons took full dominion of the court, made it hard for the Letran Knights to close the gap

Guang Ming extended the cushion by as much as 20, 51-71 as the Knights faced woes with their system inside the court. 

But Letran relied on the efforts of Galoy who churned out 11 points in the final canto to lift the Knights by as much as five but GMC proved that they wanted the victory more. 

The Knights will be facing La Salle tomorrow, June 16 still at the same venue. 


The Scores:

Quarter scores: 23-16, 37-45, 52-71, 74-89

LETRAN– Galoy 23, Javillonar 19, Cuajao 10, Santos 8, Bautista 6, Bojorcelo 4, Fajardo 3, Montecillo 3, Nunag 2, Tolentino 1, Guarino 0, Monje 0, Brillantes 0, Ariar 0, Go 0, Casia 0 

GUANG MING COLLEGE– Ududo 19, Dumalagan 18, Jamias 13, Cabilla 13, Lozada 5, Lactaotao 5, Villegas 4, Pujeda 3, Ihebem 2, Balisi 0, Caasalan 0, Soriano 0, Janio 0, Buenaobra 0