Letran Cheering Squad Gears Up for NCAA Season 98 Cheerleading Competition

By: Jerod Orcullo
April 29, 2023

The Letran Cheerleading Squad during their practice at Mapua University. Photo courtesy of the Letran Cheerleading Squad.

BACK IN ACTION for the first time since Season 94 in 2019, the NCAA will hold its Cheerleading Competition to cap off Season 98 this coming Sunday, 2 PM, at the Rizal Memorial Coliseum in Manila. 

The Letran Cheering Squad, the official cheerleading squad of the Colegio, is looking to bag its first gold-medal finish in the competition after coming close in Seasons 80 and 82 where they claimed silver medals behind Mapua and Perpetual, respectively. Letran’s last podium finish in the event was in 2012 where they finished third to the aforementioned universities.

LCS has been in full gear in its preparations to get the ever-elusive title, and Team Captain Arwin Peralta shared that their practices have not come without challenges and hurdles. 

“There are so much struggles during our preparations and I guess it is necessary before you (are) able to grab that sweet fruitful result at the end of the competition,” he stated.

“We endure them for a dream, one goal, and for a purpose,” Peralta added. 

The Civil Engineering student also offered his gratitude to the whole Letran community for their support from the beginning and through the competition and assured that the team is locked-in in trying to bring the gold home. 

“We, the Letran Cheering Squad will surely win your hearts this coming NCAA Cheerleading Competition. May the stars align on our side, Letran Community,” he ended.

The Intramuros-based team will be joined by the nine other members of the almost grand-old league in the pursuit of the Cheerleading Crown on April 30, 2023. This officially marks the end of Season 98 as Emilio Aguinaldo College hands over the hosting rights to Jose Rizal University.

The winning squad of the event will receive a generous prize of Php 100,000.00, while the first-runner-up takes home Php 75,000.00 and the second-runner-up gets Php 50,000.00.

Tickets for the said competition are priced at 200.00 PHP.