AAL sweeps execs race; PM reserves senate seats in LSC Elections 2020

By: Railon Deniega
August 28, 2020

FILE PHOTO. Johnquil Mitch Costales ran for Deputy Secretary in 2019 LSC Elections under Aksyon Alyansa Letranista.

Aksyon Alyansa Letranista (AAL) managed to claim all executive committee seats, leaving none for their political rival, Partido Muralla (PM), in the Letran Student Council (LSC) Elections 2020 held virtually last August 26-27.

The Letran COMELEC then proclaimed AAL standard-bearer, Johnquil Mitch Costales, as the new LSC President, garnering 1,008 or 81 percent of 1,241 collegiate students who cast their votes.

Costales will lead the academic year 2020-2021 together with the other elected executive committee, Gio Guerrero for Vice President, Johannah Pimentel for Secretary, Julianna La Rosa for Deputy Secretary, Pamela Siquijor for Treasurer, Sophia Membrere for Auditor, and Neo Garcia for Public Relations Officer.

"Salamat dahil binigyan niyo pa rin ako ng pagkakataon na paglingkuran kayo at ipagpatuloy ang aming mga plano para sa ating Kolehiyo," Costales told The LANCE, acknowledging support from Letranites.

The incoming president also recalled the journey he had during the campaign with his allies as they all barged into the 'Magic 7' of LSC, making another history after AAL's last sweep in 2015.

"Nagpapasalamat ako sa kanilang anim na sa kabila ng paghihirap at pag-shift into virtual campaign ay nanatili pa rin sila dahil mas nananaig ang kagustuhan nila to serve," he said.

Futhermore, Costales vowed efficiency in his administration despite challenges in the 'new normal' setup.

"Ang aming gagawin ay tutulungan kayo sa abot ng aming makakaya at gagawin namin ang mga iba’t ibang tungkulin sa konseho at para sa Kolehiyo," he said.  


Back in 2019, when AAL's Mary Charmaine Yatco took over the presidency from PM's LJ Bisco—whom administration became talk of the town after controversies sparked during 'Harapan', paving the way for AAL to regain its political dominance in the executive committee of LSC. 

In an interview with The LANCE, Yatco said she is confident with Costales' leadership despite being elected in the 'new normal' setup.

"Alam kong magagawa niya ng mabuti ang kanyang tungkulin at makapagbibigay siya ng isang produktibong konseho," the outgoing president told The LANCE.


Despite loss in executive committee race, PM reserved six senatorial seats through their candidates, Earnest David for Accountancy, Al-Raiz Tan for Economics, Sandy De Guzman for Food Technology, Lance Redor for Human Resource Management, Di-An Bien for Political Science, and James Bisco for Psychology.

"Para sa amin, it's not about the position. We believe na kahit walang posisyon nakuha ang Partido Muralla sa executive committee patuloy pa rin na maglilingkod ang mga natalong kandidato mula sa aming Partido," PM Campaign Manager CJ Ferrer told The LANCE.