CE students bag award in Contrive 2017, emerge as champion anew

By: Kathlene Ann Go
November 05, 2017

College of Engineering and Information Technology's (CEIT) Civil Engineering students once again brought pride to the Colegio as they defended their championship title in the Contrive 2017 last September 17.

Junior Philippine Institute of Civil Engineers-Lungsod ng Maynila (JPICE-LNM) conducted its JPICE-LNM Design Competition Series titled “Contrive 2017” for the month of September 2017


Contrive 2017 was composed of four design competition of first ever Rube Goldberg and Earthquake Design Competition to unleash the blood of a Master Designer among the Engineering students of Metro Manila.

In this series, the participants were plunged into challenges that enhanced their strategic skills and design wit. Also, this training helped them to translate all the theories into practice with these experiences.

The competitions for this series were AutoCAD Design Competition, Bridge Building Competition, Rube Goldberg Competition, and Earthquake Design Competition.

The first AutoCAD Competition, the first phase of the design competition series (CONTRIVE 2017) of JPICE-LNM was held at MicroCADD Institute Inc. Office Cubao Branch and supported of Microcadd Institute Incorporation.

The seventh Bridge Building Competition, which was the second phase, was held at Far Eastern University Institute of Technology (FEU IT) Gymnasium and was supported by FEU-IT and Far Eastern University Institute of Technology Association of Civil Engineering Students (FEU-IT ACES.)

And lastly, the Rube Goldberg and Earthquake Design Competition were the last phases which were held at Technological Institute of the Philippines-Manila, under the guidance of the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (PHIVOLCS).

Paul John Alilio, John Louie Natanauan, and Jerimiah Viado were able to defend their crown as champions for the Bridge Building Competition. Last year, they were crowned as champions.

Meanwhile, Lyka Pelaro, Lyron Mazon, Adrian Caisip was declared champions for Earthquake Design Competition and were tested by PHILVOCS and TIP-Manila.

Carl Enriquez, Janine Uy, Justine Niño, Darcy Rodriguez, and Carlo Negrosa won 2nd Place for Rube Goldberg Competition.


Alilio, a fifth year Civil Engineering student, explained the pressure he experienced as he joined the contest. “Nakaka-pressure kasi kailangan may ipakita ka ulit na bago or kung hindi ka man mag-champion kailangan nandoon ka pa rin sa 2nd and 3rd [place],” Allio bared.

Asked on what lessons did he learn by joining the said competition twice, he answered, “Natutunan ko is dapat palaging madiskarte sa mga desisyon na gagawin. Dapat walang masasayang na oras para maging makabuluhan ang magagawa mo."


On the other hand, Janine Uy, a fifth-year Civil Engineering student, said, “Since first time po namin sumali, and a lot of school participated we didn't expect na manalo. Our theme is recycling, so almost all of our materials were recycled, so 'di maganda visually unlike sa ibang participants." Not knowing what will be the outcome as they joined the event, Uy and her team still strived to do their best. “But we followed the criteria for judging and made sure na makakapag-present kami knowing na hindi kami mababawasan nang malaki 'yung score for judging."

She then gave gratitude to the people who guided and supported them. “[Thank you to] all the 5th year Engineering students [who] helped in the making of our structure, even our Civil Engineering faculty,” Uy ended.

Every year the Colegio supervises a competition for Civil Engineering students to look for students who will represent the Colegio for the JPICE-LNM Competitions.

Annually, (JPICE-LNM) aims to foster solidarity and cooperative friendships within the 15 Civil Engineering Universities and Colleges in Manila.

These Universities are the Technological University of the Philippines (TUP), Manuel L. Quezon University (MLQU), FEU Institute of Technology (FEU Tech), Polytechnic University of the Philippines (PUP), University of the East (UE), Eulogio "Amang" Rodriguez Institute of Science and Technology (EARIST), Technological Institute of the Philippines (TIP). FEATI University, Colegio de San Juan de Letran (CSJL), Mapua Institute of Technology (MIT), Adamson University (AdU), University of Santo Tomas (UST), Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila (PLM), De La Salle University (DLSU) and National University (NU).

(First published on The LANCE's October Issue)